Blog

Best Calorie Tracker for Mounjaro (2026): What to Track on Tirzepatide

What a calorie tracker has to do on Mounjaro or Zepbound: catch under-eating, hit a protein floor across small meals, log fiber and fluids, and stay useful through dose increases and plateaus. Five apps compared, October 2026.

By Md Sadab Wasim, founder of CallieEditorial standardsPublished October 13, 2026Updated October 13, 202614 min read
best calorie tracker for Mounjarocalorie app for MounjaroZepbound food trackertirzepatide proteinMounjaro calorie countingGLP-1 nutrition

Key takeaways

  • On Mounjaro or Zepbound the tracker's main job flips. It is there to show when you eat too little, especially protein, not to stop you eating too much.
  • The 2025 nutrition advisory from four US societies notes that targets of 1.2 to 1.6 g of protein per kg per day have been proposed during active weight loss, against an RDA of 0.8 g/kg. Ask your clinician which body weight to apply it to.
  • Nausea is the most common digestive side effect and is more likely when treatment starts and after each dose increase, so those weeks are when logging matters most and happens least.
  • No single app does everything well. MyNetDiary comes closest to an all-in-one, Shotsy and Pep are better dose logs, Cronometer is best for fiber and micronutrients, and MacroFactor has the strongest adaptive target.
  • Callie fits the logging problem: small meals by photo, voice or text, reviewed before saving, with protein shown next to calories. It does not track doses or side effects, so pair it with a dose tracker.

Callie is our app. It is one of five apps compared below, and the section on what it does not do is as long as the section on what it does. Prices are US App Store or vendor prices checked on October 13, 2026.

Not medical advice

This article compares tracking apps and summarises published nutrition guidance. It does not tell you how to take Mounjaro or Zepbound, what dose to use, or how to treat side effects. Those decisions belong to your prescriber, who knows your history.

The 30-second answer

The best calorie tracker for Mounjaro is the one that makes it easy to see when you have eaten too little, because tirzepatide (sold as Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes and Zepbound for weight management) cuts appetite hard. MyNetDiary is the closest to one app for food, injections and symptoms. Shotsy or Pep are better dose and side-effect logs. Cronometer is best for fiber and micronutrients. MacroFactor suits people who lift and want an adaptive target. Callie is best for logging small, irregular meals fast by photo, voice or text with a review step, but it does not track doses, so pair it with a dose tracker.

For the wider list covering semaglutide as well, see our GLP-1 calorie app roundup. This page is narrower: what to track on tirzepatide and which app handles each part.

Should I count calories on Mounjaro?

You can, but the reason changes. Off medication, counting keeps you under a ceiling. On tirzepatide, appetite drops so far that the ceiling mostly enforces itself, and the risk runs the other way.

The 2025 joint advisory on nutrition during GLP-1 therapy describes people who "get caught in a cycle of not eating due to nausea", which makes the nausea worse, which makes eating less likely again. A food log is the simplest way to see that cycle starting. It turns "I wasn't hungry this week" into a number you can show your clinician.

So the useful setup is:

  • Watch protein daily. It is the number most likely to fall without you noticing.
  • Watch total intake weekly. Look for a downward drift your care team did not plan for.
  • Let the calorie ceiling be. It is rarely the problem on this drug.

If counting every calorie makes eating feel harder, tracking protein alone is a reasonable middle ground. Raise it with your clinician either way.

What to track on tirzepatide

1. Under-eating, not overeating

Appetite on tirzepatide can fall quickly and unevenly. A day with half a yogurt and a few bites of dinner can pass without feeling unusual. The tracker's job is to make those days visible. That means logging even tiny meals, which only happens if logging takes seconds.

2. Protein across small meals

Protein is the hardest target to hit when every meal is small. The advisory suggests eating protein-rich foods first in a meal and choosing lower-volume, nutrient-dense protein foods. In practice that means four or five small eating occasions with protein in each, rather than two or three large meals. Our GLP-1 muscle loss guide covers why this matters and how to spread it out.

3. Small, low-volume meals

The Zepbound label states that tirzepatide delays gastric emptying, and the advisory notes that vomiting is more likely after large meals. Smaller, more frequent meals are its first suggestion for nausea. For tracking, this means more entries per day, each smaller, and often a meal you stop partway through. An app that makes you search a database and type 0.4 servings for every one of those will not get used.

4. Fiber and fluids

Constipation is common, and the advisory recommends adequate fluids and fiber from food, with fiber increased gradually. It also warns that dehydration from severe nausea, vomiting or diarrhea can cause acute kidney injury. The Zepbound label carries the same warning about kidney injury from volume depletion. If your app tracks fiber and water, use those fields. If it does not, a second app or a simple note works.

5. Side effects that change what you eat

The most common side effects in the Zepbound label are digestive: nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, constipation, abdominal pain, indigestion, burping and reflux. They shape food choices directly. Greasy or large meals may stop being tolerable, and some people lean on soft or liquid food for a few days. Logging food next to symptoms lets you and your clinician see patterns. That pairing is where a dose-and-symptom app earns its place.

6. Dose increase weeks

Tirzepatide is started low and increased in steps, several weeks apart, on a schedule your prescriber sets. The advisory notes that digestive side effects are more likely when treatment starts and after each increase. Expect intake to dip in those weeks. Logging the date of each change in a dose tracker, and keeping food logging going in your calorie app, gives you a before-and-after picture to discuss at your next appointment.

7. Plateaus

Weight loss slows over time on any treatment. When the scale stalls, a few weeks of food logs answer the first questions quickly: has intake crept back up, has protein dropped, has nothing changed at all? Our weight-loss plateau guide covers the general causes. On Mounjaro, the next step is a conversation with your prescriber, not cutting food further on your own.

Raise these with your prescriber

Nausea or vomiting that stops you eating or drinking for a day or more, signs of dehydration, severe or lasting abdominal pain, or weight falling faster than your care team expects. If you take Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes alongside insulin or a sulfonylurea, eating much less than usual is also worth raising, because the label flags low blood sugar with those combinations.

How much protein on Mounjaro?

There is no tirzepatide-specific protein number. The most cited guidance is the May 2025 joint advisory, Nutritional Priorities to Support GLP-1 Therapy for Obesity, from the American College of Lifestyle Medicine, the American Society for Nutrition, the Obesity Medicine Association and The Obesity Society. On protein it says:

  • The RDA for adults is 0.8 g per kg of body weight per day.
  • Higher targets, such as 1.2 to 1.6 g/kg per day, have been proposed during active weight loss.
  • For people with obesity, it is unclear whether to use actual body weight, an adjusted weight or fat-free mass. Using actual weight can overestimate needs.
  • An absolute target of 80 to 120 g a day may be easier to stick to.
  • Protein alone is unlikely to protect muscle without strength training.

Here is what those ranges look like at a few body weights. This is arithmetic on the published range, not a recommendation for you.

Body weight1.2 g/kg1.6 g/kg
60 kg (132 lb)72 g96 g
80 kg (176 lb)96 g128 g
100 kg (220 lb)120 g160 g

Because the advisory is unsure which weight to use at higher body weights, the right number for you is a question for your prescriber or a registered dietitian. Our protein calculator shows the arithmetic for other goals.

Calorie calculator for Mounjaro: is there one?

No calculator is validated for tirzepatide. A standard maintenance calorie calculator estimates how much you would eat to hold your weight, which helps you understand the size of the deficit you are running. It does not tell you how little is too little.

On Mounjaro, the numbers worth putting in your tracker are floors: a protein target and, if your clinician gives you one, a minimum daily intake. Treat any calorie target the app suggests as context, and check it with your care team before you aim for it.

Best calorie app for Mounjaro: five apps compared

FeatureCallieMyNetDiaryCronometerMacroFactorShotsyPep
Main jobFast food loggingFood plus GLP-1 toolsNutrient detailAdaptive macro coachingDose logDose log plus food
Photo logging with a review stepMeal Scan (Premium)GoldAI photo scanner
Voice or text description loggingNot checkedVoice (Gold)Not stated
Protein on the main screenLogs proteinLogs protein
Fiber and micronutrient depthBasic108 nutrients (Premium)84 nutrientsModerateFiber
Injection or dose logPremiumVia custom biometric (Gold)
Side-effect or symptom logBiometrics; custom ones GoldNot detailed
Daily meal planDaily, matched to BMIGLP-1 menus (Premium)Not stated
US yearly price$34.99$59.99 Premium$59.99 Gold$71.99$39.99 or $59.99 listedCore tracking at no charge; paid extras
From vendor pages, press releases and US App Store listings, checked October 13, 2026. Not checked means we could not confirm it either way. Features move between tiers often; confirm in the app before paying.

Which app for which problem

One app for food, doses and symptoms: MyNetDiary

MyNetDiary launched GLP-1 Companion on May 5, 2026, inside its Premium tier, on iOS and Android. It names Mounjaro and Zepbound directly. It adds injection reminders and a medication tracker, protein shown as a primary nutrient, hydration and fiber tracking, digestive symptom logging (nausea, bloating, constipation), GLP-1 menus with 90 g or more of protein a day, and progress charts that line up weight, protein, medication timing and symptoms. Premium is $59.99 a year or $9.99 a month. If you want one app and do not mind a more traditional database-first logging style, start here.

The best dose and side-effect log: Shotsy or Pep

Shotsy is built around the medication: one-tap dose logging, schedules and reminders, multiple medications, side effects, weight, and calories, protein and water, which it can pull from Apple Health. Its US App Store listing shows in-app purchases of $39.99 and $59.99 a year. Pep covers doses, injection-site rotation, protein, fiber, calories and water, with a food search, barcode scanner and AI photo scanner. Its site says core tracking costs nothing, with paid extras. Either one pairs well with a separate food tracker, because you open a dose log once a week and a food log several times a day.

Fiber and micronutrients: Cronometer

When you eat much less food, each bite has to carry more nutrients, and the advisory lists preventing micronutrient deficiencies as one of its priorities. Cronometer's free tier shows 84 nutrients, including fiber and magnesium. Gold ($59.99 a year) adds photo logging with a review step and voice logging. Cronometer has no dedicated GLP-1 mode, but its own blog suggests logging doses and symptoms as custom biometrics, which need Gold.

Strength training and an adaptive target: MacroFactor

MacroFactor ($71.99 a year) recalculates your targets from your actual intake and weight trend, which helps when intake swings from week to week. It has AI photo logging and a Describe feature for voice or text, both with an editable Plate view before anything is logged. We found no injection log. It suits people who lift, which the advisory recommends alongside protein.

Logging small meals quickly: Callie

This is the slot we built Callie for. See the next section.

Where Callie fits, and what it does not do

What it does not do: Callie does not log injections, doses, dose dates, injection sites or side effects. It has no GLP-1 mode. Its fiber and micronutrient detail is basic next to Cronometer or MyNetDiary. If you want all of that in one app, MyNetDiary Premium is the better fit.

What it does for someone on tirzepatide:

  • Photo, voice and text logging. Take a photo of the half-finished plate, or say "three spoonfuls of Greek yogurt and a few blueberries". On low-appetite days, this is the difference between a logged meal and no entry at all.
  • Review before saving. Every photo scan opens on an edit screen with the detected foods, portions, calories and macros. Nothing is saved until you confirm, so you can shrink the portion to what you actually ate.
  • Depth-aware portion estimates. Callie reads depth and camera metadata in the photo file to judge scale, which matters when portions are small. In our own 20-meal test, Callie averaged 13% error against a kitchen scale and Cal AI 17%; the method is on the Callie vs Cal AI page.
  • Protein and macros next to calories, with custom goals, so you can enter the protein target your clinician gives you.
  • Daily diet plans matched to your BMI. A suggested day of meals is more practical than a calorie ceiling when the real question is how to fit protein into a small appetite.
  • An AI coach in any language, for questions like "what can I eat that is high in protein and easy on a queasy stomach". It answers food questions; it does not give medical advice.
  • A streak dashboard and a home-screen widget, which help with the habit of logging on days you barely eat.

Callie is $34.99 a year in the US after 3 trial AI logs. That is less than half of MacroFactor ($71.99) and cheaper than Cronometer Gold ($59.99) or MyNetDiary Premium ($59.99), but you would still add a dose tracker on top.

When MyNetDiary, Cronometer or MacroFactor is the better choice

  • Choose MyNetDiary if you want one app with food logging, injection reminders, a medication log and symptom tracking, and GLP-1 menus built around higher protein.
  • Choose Cronometer if fiber, iron, calcium or B12 are on your mind, or your clinician asks you to watch specific nutrients. Its free tier already shows 84 nutrients.
  • Choose MacroFactor if you strength train and want the most careful adaptive calorie and macro targets.
  • Choose Shotsy or Pep alone if you mostly want a dose log and your clinician is happy with a rough idea of protein and calories.
  • Choose Callie plus a dose tracker if logging friction is what makes you stop, especially on days you only manage a few bites.
Medical disclaimer

Tirzepatide is a prescription medicine with real side effects and warnings. Nothing here is advice on starting, stopping or changing a dose, or on treating side effects. Protein and calorie targets, supplements and monitoring should be set with your prescriber or a registered dietitian.

Sources

  1. Mozaffarian D et al. (2025). "Nutritional priorities to support GLP-1 therapy for obesity: a joint Advisory from the American College of Lifestyle Medicine, the American Society for Nutrition, the Obesity Medicine Association, and The Obesity Society." The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition 122: 344–367. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ajcnut.2025.04.023
  2. American Society for Nutrition (May 30, 2025). "Nutritional Priorities to Support GLP-1 Therapy for Obesity." https://nutrition.org/nutritional-priorities-to-support-glp-1-therapy-for-obesity/
  3. Eli Lilly and Company. ZEPBOUND (tirzepatide) US Prescribing Information, revised August 2026 (accessed October 13, 2026). https://pi.lilly.com/us/zepbound-uspi.pdf
  4. MyNetDiary (May 5, 2026). "MyNetDiary Launches GLP-1 Companion for Ozempic, Wegovy, and Mounjaro Users." https://www.mynetdiary.com/mynetdiary-launches-glp-1-companion-for-ozempic-wegovy-and-mounjaro-users.html
  5. MyNetDiary GLP-1 Companion page (accessed October 13, 2026). https://www.mynetdiary.com/glp-1-app.html
  6. Shotsy GLP-1 Tracker, US App Store listing (accessed October 13, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/-/id6499510249
  7. Pep GLP-1 tracker (accessed October 13, 2026). https://pepglp1.com/
  8. Cronometer (July 10, 2024). "GLP-1 Drugs: How Cronometer Can Help." https://cronometer.com/blog/glp-1-drugs-how-cronometer-can-help/
  9. Cronometer App Store listing (accessed September 28, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cronometer-calorie-counter/id1145935738
  10. MacroFactor Help Center. "AI Food Logging." https://help.macrofactorapp.com/en/articles/258-ai-food-logging
  11. MacroFactor App Store listing (accessed September 28, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/macrofactor-macro-tracker/id1553503471
  12. Callie internal 20-meal kitchen-scale benchmark (May 2026). Methodology at https://www.mycallie.app/en/compare/callie-vs-cal-ai

Frequently asked questions

What is the best calorie tracker for Mounjaro?

It depends on which problem you need solved. MyNetDiary is the closest to one app for food, injections and symptoms, through its GLP-1 Companion in Premium ($59.99 a year). Cronometer is best if you want fiber and micronutrient detail. MacroFactor is best if you lift and want a target that adapts to your weight trend. Callie is best if the hard part is logging small, irregular meals quickly; it does not track doses, so pair it with Shotsy or Pep.

Should I count calories on Mounjaro?

Many people do, but for a different reason than usual. Tirzepatide reduces appetite, so the deficit mostly takes care of itself. Tracking is useful for spotting days when intake, and especially protein, drops lower than your care team intends. If counting makes eating feel harder or more anxious, tell your clinician; you can also track protein alone.

How much protein on Mounjaro?

There is no Mounjaro-specific number. The 2025 joint advisory from the American College of Lifestyle Medicine, American Society for Nutrition, Obesity Medicine Association and The Obesity Society notes that 1.2 to 1.6 g per kg of body weight per day has been proposed during active weight loss, and that an absolute target of 80 to 120 g a day may be easier to stick to. It also says it is unclear which body weight to use for people with obesity. Your prescriber or a registered dietitian can set your number.

Is there a calorie calculator for Mounjaro?

No calculator is validated for tirzepatide. A standard calculator estimates your maintenance calories, which tells you roughly how big a deficit you are running. On Mounjaro the more useful numbers are floors: a protein target and a minimum intake your clinician is comfortable with. Use a calculator for context, not as a target to cut toward.

Does Callie track Mounjaro doses or side effects?

No. Callie tracks food, protein and other macros, weight and streaks, and gives a daily diet plan matched to your BMI. It does not log injections, doses, injection sites or symptoms. Use a dedicated dose tracker such as Shotsy or Pep alongside it, or MyNetDiary Premium if you want both in one app.

Why has my weight stalled on Mounjaro?

Weight loss on any treatment slows over time, and short stalls of a week or two are often water. A food log can show whether intake has crept back up, whether protein has dropped, or whether nothing has changed. Bring that log to your prescriber rather than changing your medication or cutting food further on your own.

Keep reading