Compare

Callie vs Cal AI: Which Photo Calorie Tracker Is Better? (2026)

Honest head-to-head — a 20-meal benchmark, feature comparison, pricing, and verdict on Callie vs Cal AI, now a MyFitnessPal-owned app.

By Inlab ProductsPublished May 19, 2026Updated August 4, 202610 min read
Cal AICal AI alternativeAI calorie trackerphoto calorie counter

Key takeaways

  • Cal AI is no longer an independent app. MyFitnessPal acquired it in a deal that closed in December 2025 and was announced on March 2, 2026, and Cal AI now runs on MyFitnessPal's food database. Callie remains independent.
  • Cal AI and Callie both lead with photo-based calorie tracking. Callie adds review-and-edit before confirm (no surprise auto-logs), voice logging, multi-language UI, daily BMI-matched diet plans, a streak dashboard, and scheduled cheat days that protect your streak.
  • In a 20-meal kitchen-scale benchmark, Callie averaged 13% mean absolute error vs Cal AI's 17%. Both clustered within the 10–20% band typical of the category.
  • Apple removed Cal AI from the App Store in April 2026 over its billing design — an in-app purchase bypass and misleading subscription pricing — then restored it after the developer made fixes.
  • Choose Cal AI if you want a streamlined photo-only experience backed by MyFitnessPal's database. Choose Callie if you want photo + voice + text logging in the free tier, native multi-language UI, daily personalized meal/exercise plans, and habit-visibility tools.

title: "Callie vs Cal AI: Which Photo Calorie Tracker Is Better? (2026)" description: "Honest head-to-head — a 20-meal benchmark, feature comparison, pricing, and verdict on Callie vs Cal AI, now a MyFitnessPal-owned app." publishedAt: "2026-05-19" updatedAt: "2026-08-04" author: "Inlab Products" tags: ["Cal AI", "Cal AI alternative", "AI calorie tracker", "photo calorie counter"] competitor: "Cal AI" keyTakeaways:

  • "Cal AI is no longer an independent app. MyFitnessPal acquired it in a deal that closed in December 2025 and was announced on March 2, 2026, and Cal AI now runs on MyFitnessPal's food database. Callie remains independent."
  • "Cal AI and Callie both lead with photo-based calorie tracking. Callie adds review-and-edit before confirm (no surprise auto-logs), voice logging, multi-language UI, daily BMI-matched diet plans, a streak dashboard, and scheduled cheat days that protect your streak."
  • "In a 20-meal kitchen-scale benchmark, Callie averaged 13% mean absolute error vs Cal AI's 17%. Both clustered within the 10–20% band typical of the category."
  • "Apple removed Cal AI from the App Store in April 2026 over its billing design — an in-app purchase bypass and misleading subscription pricing — then restored it after the developer made fixes."
  • "Choose Cal AI if you want a streamlined photo-only experience backed by MyFitnessPal's database. Choose Callie if you want photo + voice + text logging in the free tier, native multi-language UI, daily personalized meal/exercise plans, and habit-visibility tools." faq:
  • question: "Is Cal AI owned by MyFitnessPal?" answer: "Yes. MyFitnessPal acquired Cal AI in a deal that closed in December 2025 and was announced publicly on March 2, 2026. Terms were not disclosed. Cal AI's seven-person team, including co-founder and CEO Zach Yadegari, joined MyFitnessPal, and Cal AI continues to run as a standalone app now backed by MyFitnessPal's food database. Callie is independent, built by Inlab Products."
  • question: "Is Callie better than Cal AI?" answer: "For most users, yes — because Callie supports voice, text, and photo logging in its free tier while Cal AI is primarily photo-focused and subscription-gated. If you only ever log by photo, the two apps are close on accuracy (Callie 13% MAE vs Cal AI 17% MAE in our 20-meal test), and Cal AI now has MyFitnessPal's larger food database behind it."
  • question: "Is Cal AI accurate?" answer: "Cal AI's photo accuracy is competitive with the category — typically within 15–25% of a kitchen-scale reference for plated meals. Accuracy is best when the photo has a size reference in frame. Since the MyFitnessPal acquisition it draws on a larger nutrition database, which helps once a food is identified. It's not FDA-cleared for medical use; treat the numbers as directional."
  • question: "Why was Cal AI removed from the App Store?" answer: "Apple pulled Cal AI in April 2026 for App Store billing violations. Per Apple's account to TechCrunch, the app bypassed the required in-app purchase flow with a Stripe-based checkout, showed weekly pricing more prominently than the amount actually billed, used a free-trial toggle that didn't make auto-renewal clear, and re-prompted users who declined with a different offer. Apple said the issue was the deceptive billing design, not external payments. The app was restored after fixes."
  • question: "How much does Cal AI cost?" answer: "Cal AI is free to download with a subscription for full access. Its App Store listing shows in-app purchases from $0.99 to $29.99 as of August 2026, covering weekly and longer tiers. A Cal AI subscription does not include MyFitnessPal Premium — they are billed separately despite the shared owner. Callie is free to download with optional premium features and includes AI photo, voice, and text logging at no cost. Confirm current pricing in-store before subscribing."
  • question: "Which is better for languages other than English?" answer: "Callie. Cal AI is primarily English. Callie ships fully localized in English, French, Spanish, German, and Arabic, including right-to-left layout, and the AI coach can chat with you in any language."

If you're reading this, you've probably seen Cal AI on TikTok or in App Store ads. Their pitch is straightforward: snap a photo, get the calories. Callie's pitch is broader: snap a photo, or say it, or type it, in whichever language is easiest in the moment.

This comparison is opinionated but honest — Callie is our product, and we'll be specific about where Cal AI is the better choice for some users.

Update: Cal AI is now owned by MyFitnessPal

MyFitnessPal acquired Cal AI in a deal that closed in December 2025 and was announced on March 2, 2026. Terms weren't disclosed. Cal AI still runs as a standalone app with its own subscription, but it's now backed by MyFitnessPal's food database — 20 million+ foods, 68,500 brands, 380+ restaurant chains. If you're comparing all three apps, see MyFitnessPal vs Cal AI.

TL;DR

Both apps are competent AI photo calorie trackers. Callie is faster end-to-end because you're not forced to take a photo every time, includes photo, voice and text logging in the free tier, ships a localized UI in five languages (English, French, Spanish, German, Arabic) with any-language AI chat, includes an AI coach, and was 4 percentage points more accurate than Cal AI in our 20-meal benchmark. Cal AI is more focused, and since the acquisition it has the largest food database in the category behind it — if you specifically want a photo-only experience and never need voice or multi-language, it's a clean single-purpose tool.

At-a-glance comparison

FeatureCallieCal AI
Photo calorie tracking
AI logging in free tier
Review & edit before logging (no auto-log)
Voice food logging
Text / natural-language logging
Barcode scanner
Food database sizeUSDA + internalMyFitnessPal (20M+)
Menu scanner (restaurant menus)
Localized UI (EN, FR, ES, DE, AR)
AI coach in any language
AI nutrition coach
Daily diet plan matched to your BMI
Streak dashboard (GitHub-style)
Scheduled cheat day preserves streak
Weight tracker / trend graphs
Keto / IF support
Free to download
iOS + Android
Owned byInlab Products (independent)MyFitnessPal
Feature matrix based on app capabilities as of August 2026. Confirm current state in each app's App Store listing.

Pricing

FeatureCallieCal AI
Free downloadYesYes
Free tier scopeAI photo, voice & text logging + coach liteLimited; subscription for full access
In-app purchases listedOptional premium$0.99 – $29.99
Paid planOptional premiumWeekly and longer subscription tiers
Covered by MyFitnessPal PremiumN/ANo — billed separately
Trial periodSee App Store listingSee App Store listing
In-app purchase ranges as listed on the US App Store, August 2026. These lists include promotional and regional prices — check the App Store / Play Store for current pricing, as subscription fees change frequently.
Check Cal AI's billing screen carefully

In April 2026 Apple removed Cal AI from the App Store over its subscription flow, citing an in-app purchase bypass via a Stripe checkout, weekly pricing displayed more prominently than the amount actually billed, a free-trial toggle that didn't make auto-renewal clear, and users who declined being re-prompted with a different offer. Apple said the problem was the deceptive billing design rather than external payments as such. Cal AI was restored after the developer made fixes and later ranked #4 in Health and Fitness. The issues appear resolved — but read the price and renewal terms before confirming any subscription, in any app.

The 20-meal benchmark

We tested both apps on the same 20 meals, weighed on a 0.1g kitchen scale before logging. Each meal was photographed with a fork in frame and standard plate.

Meal typeCallie MAECal AI MAE
Plated single-protein meal (chicken + rice + veg)8%11%
Globally diverse (couscous, paella, ramen, etc.)14%23%
Bowl meals (Buddha bowl, poke)12%14%
Layered / casserole (lasagna, biryani)22%26%
Restaurant takeout (mixed)15%18%
Overall mean absolute error13%17%

Why the gap? Cal AI's vision model is solid for Western plated meals but slips on globally diverse and layered dishes. Callie's training data and food coverage are broader — and the AI coach can talk through corrections in any language, so users in markets where Cal AI hasn't localized still get accurate logs.

Caveat on benchmarks

Both apps update their models frequently. Numbers above reflect performance as of May 2026 and may shift. The relative ranking has been stable in our re-tests; the absolute error rates may drop on both sides over time.

Head-to-head on each dimension

Logging speed

  • Callie — voice logging averages ~10 seconds per meal, photo ~15 seconds (snap, confirm). Text is ~20 seconds.
  • Cal AI — photo flow averages ~15 seconds; no first-class voice or text path.

If you can't always take a photo (in a meeting, driving home, eating at someone else's house), Callie's voice option saves the day. Cal AI's photo-only flow means you sometimes just don't log.

Accuracy

Both are in the same band (10–20% MAE for plated meals). Callie's edge is on multilingual cuisines and layered dishes.

One change worth noting since our benchmark: Cal AI now draws on MyFitnessPal's nutrition database. Vision models fail at two separate steps — identifying the food, then attaching numbers to it — and the acquisition improved Cal AI's second step. We haven't re-run the full benchmark since; expect the gap on plated Western meals to have narrowed.

Languages

This is the largest practical gap. Callie ships a fully localized UI in English, French, Spanish, German, and Arabic (right-to-left included), and the AI coach can chat with you in any language in the world. Cal AI is English-first; international users have to translate before logging.

AI coach

  • Callie — surfaces patterns ("your protein has been below target for 4 days," "Friday evenings are when you're most likely to over-snack — want to plan for it?"). Pre-meal coaching for diet-leaning users.
  • Cal AI — limited or no conversational coaching at the time of writing.

UI polish

  • Cal AI — clean, single-purpose, very polished animations.
  • Callie — more features per screen because there are more input modalities. Some users prefer the focus of Cal AI's UI; others want the flexibility.

Who's behind each app

Cal AI was built independently by Zach Yadegari and Henry Langmack, who started it in high school and grew it past 15 million downloads and roughly $30 million in annual revenue in under two years. Since March 2026 it has been part of MyFitnessPal, which has itself been owned by the private equity firm Francisco Partners since 2020.

Callie is built by Inlab Products and is independent. Whether that matters to you is a fair question — the practical relevance is that consolidation in this category has generally coincided with features moving from free tiers into paid ones, and an independent developer has different incentives than a PE-owned portfolio. Cal AI users did get something concrete out of it, though: a much larger food database.

Privacy

Both apps collect health and fitness data per their privacy policies. Read each in the App Store listing before installing if data residency or data sharing matters to you. Callie's Privacy Policy explains what we collect and why.

Photo logging: auto-log vs review-then-confirm

This is the largest UX gap between the two apps and the one most users notice within their first week.

  • Cal AI — When you snap a meal, it auto-logs based on the model's identification. If a portion is misidentified or a sauce is missed, the wrong number sits in your daily total until you notice and correct it.
  • Callie — When you snap a meal, Callie shows a review screen with the foods, portions, calories, and macros it pulled from the picture. You can edit any field — increase a portion, remove an item, add the olive oil it didn't see — and only then confirm to log.

Why this matters: AI photo recognition is consistently 10–20% off (both apps). With auto-log, that 15% error becomes silent under-tracking that masks why your weight isn't moving. With review-then-confirm, the error is caught and edited before it lands in your data.

Daily diet plans + streak dashboard

These are Callie-only features as of writing.

  • Diet-matched daily plan — pick a diet (keto, IF, calorie cut, balanced, custom). Callie generates a fresh list of meals and exercise suggestions each day, calibrated to your BMI, current weight, fitness level, and allergies. Cal AI doesn't have a programmatic plan feature.
  • Streak dashboard (GitHub-style) — a contribution-graph view of your daily logging, green tiles for logged days. Cal AI tracks streaks numerically but doesn't surface the visual habit grid.
  • Cheat day that preserves your streak — mark a planned cheat day and your streak stays intact. This is psychologically meaningful for long diets — one bad number shouldn't reset six weeks of consistency.

When Cal AI is the better choice

We'll say it plainly: choose Cal AI if all of these apply:

  1. You only want to log by photo (never voice, never text).
  2. You log only English-language foods.
  3. You don't want or need an AI coach.
  4. You prefer a single-purpose UI over a multi-modal one.
  5. You're happy to subscribe, and you want the largest packaged-food and restaurant-chain database behind your photo estimates.

That's a legitimate set of preferences. Cal AI does what it does well, and the MyFitnessPal database now behind it is a genuine advantage for branded and chain-restaurant food.

How to switch from Cal AI to Callie

  1. Note your current weight, height, and target goal.
  2. Install Callie from the App Store or Google Play.
  3. Run the 60-second personalization flow.
  4. Start logging tomorrow's breakfast by voice, text, or photo — whichever is easiest in the moment.

Past meal history doesn't usually need to migrate — the AI coach calibrates to your patterns within a week.

Verdict

If you're choosing between the two right now and don't have strong loyalty: try Callie first. It does everything Cal AI does, faster, in more languages, and with a coach. If you specifically want photo-only purity, Cal AI is the right pick.

Sources

  1. Internal Callie 20-meal kitchen-scale benchmark (May 2026). Methodology: each meal weighed to 0.1g, photographed with a fork in frame on a 10-inch plate, logged once per app, compared to USDA FoodData Central calorie densities.
  2. TechCrunch (March 2, 2026). "MyFitnessPal has acquired Cal AI, the viral calorie app built by teens." https://techcrunch.com/2026/03/02/myfitnesspal-has-acquired-cal-ai-the-viral-calorie-app-built-by-teens/
  3. TechCrunch (April 21, 2026). "Apple's Cal AI crackdown signals it's still policing the App Store." https://techcrunch.com/2026/04/21/apples-cal-ai-crackdown-signals-its-still-policing-the-app-store/
  4. MacRumors (April 21, 2026). "Apple Pulled Cal AI for Deceptive Billing Design, Not External Payments." https://www.macrumors.com/2026/04/21/apple-cal-ai-app-store-removal/
  5. Cal AI App Store listing (accessed August 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cal-ai-calorie-tracker/id6480417616
  6. USDA FoodData Central. https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/
  7. Lu et al. (2020). "A Multi-Task Learning Approach for Meal Assessment." https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7146530/

Frequently asked questions

Is Cal AI owned by MyFitnessPal?

Yes. MyFitnessPal acquired Cal AI in a deal that closed in December 2025 and was announced publicly on March 2, 2026. Terms were not disclosed. Cal AI's seven-person team, including co-founder and CEO Zach Yadegari, joined MyFitnessPal, and Cal AI continues to run as a standalone app now backed by MyFitnessPal's food database. Callie is independent, built by Inlab Products.

Is Callie better than Cal AI?

For most users, yes — because Callie supports voice, text, and photo logging in its free tier while Cal AI is primarily photo-focused and subscription-gated. If you only ever log by photo, the two apps are close on accuracy (Callie 13% MAE vs Cal AI 17% MAE in our 20-meal test), and Cal AI now has MyFitnessPal's larger food database behind it.

Is Cal AI accurate?

Cal AI's photo accuracy is competitive with the category — typically within 15–25% of a kitchen-scale reference for plated meals. Accuracy is best when the photo has a size reference in frame. Since the MyFitnessPal acquisition it draws on a larger nutrition database, which helps once a food is identified. It's not FDA-cleared for medical use; treat the numbers as directional.

Why was Cal AI removed from the App Store?

Apple pulled Cal AI in April 2026 for App Store billing violations. Per Apple's account to TechCrunch, the app bypassed the required in-app purchase flow with a Stripe-based checkout, showed weekly pricing more prominently than the amount actually billed, used a free-trial toggle that didn't make auto-renewal clear, and re-prompted users who declined with a different offer. Apple said the issue was the deceptive billing design, not external payments. The app was restored after fixes.

How much does Cal AI cost?

Cal AI is free to download with a subscription for full access. Its App Store listing shows in-app purchases from $0.99 to $29.99 as of August 2026, covering weekly and longer tiers. A Cal AI subscription does not include MyFitnessPal Premium — they are billed separately despite the shared owner. Callie is free to download with optional premium features and includes AI photo, voice, and text logging at no cost. Confirm current pricing in-store before subscribing.

Which is better for languages other than English?

Callie. Cal AI is primarily English. Callie ships fully localized in English, French, Spanish, German, and Arabic, including right-to-left layout, and the AI coach can chat with you in any language.

Keep reading