Blog

Best Cal AI Alternatives in 2026: 8 AI Calorie Trackers Compared

The best Cal AI alternatives in September 2026, ranked by what each one is best at. Prices checked on the US App Store, plus which apps let you review a photo scan before it is logged.

By Md Sadab Wasim, founder of CallieEditorial standardsPublished September 28, 2026Updated September 28, 202610 min read
Cal AI alternativeCal AI alternativesapps like Cal AIAI calorie trackerphoto calorie counterbest calorie tracker 2026

Key takeaways

  • The best Cal AI alternative for most people is an app that logs by photo, voice and text and shows you the estimate before saving it. Callie, MacroFactor and Cronometer Gold all use a review-before-logging flow.
  • Cal AI is owned by MyFitnessPal. The deal closed in December 2025 and was announced on March 2, 2026, so switching between the two keeps you with the same owner.
  • Cal AI is not expensive. Its US App Store in-app purchases run from $0.99 to $29.99 as of September 28, 2026. People leave it over billing, auto-logging and ownership more often than over price.
  • SnapCalorie has the most useful free allowance of the photo-first apps, 3 AI logs per day. Cronometer has the best free tier overall but keeps photo logging in Gold.
  • MacroFactor has the best adaptive calorie algorithm, MyFitnessPal the largest database, and Lose It! the only lifetime purchase on this list.

title: "Best Cal AI Alternatives in 2026: 8 AI Calorie Trackers Compared" description: "The best Cal AI alternatives in September 2026, ranked by what each one is best at. Prices checked on the US App Store, plus which apps let you review a photo scan before it is logged." publishedAt: "2026-09-28" updatedAt: "2026-09-28" category: "App comparisons" tags: ["Cal AI alternative", "Cal AI alternatives", "apps like Cal AI", "AI calorie tracker", "photo calorie counter", "best calorie tracker 2026"] keyTakeaways:

  • "The best Cal AI alternative for most people is an app that logs by photo, voice and text and shows you the estimate before saving it. Callie, MacroFactor and Cronometer Gold all use a review-before-logging flow."
  • "Cal AI is owned by MyFitnessPal. The deal closed in December 2025 and was announced on March 2, 2026, so switching between the two keeps you with the same owner."
  • "Cal AI is not expensive. Its US App Store in-app purchases run from $0.99 to $29.99 as of September 28, 2026. People leave it over billing, auto-logging and ownership more often than over price."
  • "SnapCalorie has the most useful free allowance of the photo-first apps, 3 AI logs per day. Cronometer has the best free tier overall but keeps photo logging in Gold."
  • "MacroFactor has the best adaptive calorie algorithm, MyFitnessPal the largest database, and Lose It! the only lifetime purchase on this list." faq:
  • question: "What is the best alternative to Cal AI?" answer: "For most people it is an app that logs by photo, voice and text and lets you correct the estimate before it is saved. Callie does all of that at $34.99 a year and is independent of MyFitnessPal. If you want the most precise nutrient data, pick Cronometer. If you train seriously and want your calorie target to adjust itself, pick MacroFactor. If you want a photo-first app with a free daily allowance, try SnapCalorie."
  • question: "Is there a cheaper app than Cal AI?" answer: "Not really among AI photo trackers. Cal AI's US App Store listing shows in-app purchases from $0.99 to $29.99 as of September 28, 2026, and most paid alternatives cost more per year. Callie is $34.99 a year. Cronometer Gold and Fitia Premium are $59.99, MacroFactor is $71.99, and MyFitnessPal Premium and Lose It! Premium are $79.99. If you want to pay nothing, SnapCalorie gives 3 AI logs per day free, and Cronometer and FatSecret have large free tiers without AI photo logging."
  • question: "Is there a Cal AI alternative that doesn't auto-log?" answer: "Yes. Callie shows the detected foods, portions, calories and macros on a review screen and saves nothing until you confirm. MacroFactor puts AI results in an editable Plate view and you tap Log Foods to save them. Cronometer's Gold photo logging asks you to review and adjust the suggested foods before they reach your diary. In our testing, Cal AI adds a scanned meal to your day and you fix it afterward."
  • question: "Is Cal AI owned by MyFitnessPal?" answer: "Yes. MyFitnessPal acquired Cal AI in a deal that closed in December 2025 and was announced on March 2, 2026. Terms were not disclosed. Cal AI still runs as a separate app with a separate subscription, and MyFitnessPal Premium does not unlock it."
  • question: "What is a free alternative to Cal AI?" answer: "SnapCalorie is the closest free option. Its FAQ says it is free for up to 3 AI logs per day, with unlimited manual and barcode entries. Cronometer's free tier has barcode scanning and 80-plus nutrients but no photo logging, which is Gold-only. Callie is not free. You get 3 AI logs to try it, then it costs $34.99 a year."
  • question: "Why was Cal AI removed from the App Store?" answer: "Apple pulled Cal AI in April 2026 over its billing design. Apple told TechCrunch the app bypassed in-app purchase with a Stripe checkout, showed weekly pricing more prominently than the amount billed, used a free-trial toggle that hid auto-renewal, and re-prompted people who declined with a second offer. Cal AI was restored after the developer made fixes."

We make Callie, one of the apps on this list. We put it first and explain why, and each other app gets the category it is best at. Every price below comes from the US App Store on September 28, 2026, and the full source list is at the bottom.

The 30-second answer

The best Cal AI alternative for most people is Callie: AI Calorie Tracker. It logs by photo, voice or text, shows every photo estimate on an edit screen before saving it, and costs $34.99 a year without being owned by MyFitnessPal. If you want free, detailed nutrient data, pick Cronometer. If you want a calorie target that adjusts to your weight trend and you train seriously, pick MacroFactor. If you want a photo-first app with a free daily allowance, pick SnapCalorie.

Why people are leaving Cal AI

Cal AI grew past 15 million downloads in under two years, and it holds a 4.8 rating from 367,029 reviews on the US App Store. People who leave it are mostly not unhappy with the camera. They usually leave for one of four reasons.

It now belongs to MyFitnessPal. The acquisition closed in December 2025 and was announced on March 2, 2026. MyFitnessPal has been owned by the private equity firm Francisco Partners since 2020. If you picked Cal AI as the independent alternative to MyFitnessPal, that option is gone. We cover the details in MyFitnessPal vs Cal AI.

The April 2026 billing removal. Apple pulled Cal AI from the App Store in April 2026. Apple told TechCrunch the app skipped in-app purchase for a Stripe checkout, showed weekly prices more prominently than the amount actually billed, and used a trial toggle that hid auto-renewal. MacRumors reported Apple's position that the billing design was the problem, not external payments. The app came back after fixes. Even so, plenty of people stopped trusting the paywall after that.

Auto-logging. In our testing, Cal AI adds a scanned meal to your daily total straight away and you correct it afterward. That matters because photo estimates run low. A 2026 NIH analysis we covered in our write-up of the AI calorie app accuracy study found four popular photo apps underestimated meals by roughly 250 to 345 calories each when nobody corrected the logs. If you don't catch the miss before saving, it stays in your total.

Paywall and pricing confusion. Cal AI's listing shows in-app purchases between $0.99 and $29.99 and doesn't say which is weekly, monthly or yearly. Scan results require a subscription, per the listing itself. The price is low. What bothers people is not knowing which one they will actually be charged.

Language used to be a fifth reason. It no longer holds up well, because Cal AI's App Store listing now shows 15 localizations, including Arabic, French, German, Hindi, Japanese and Spanish.

The best Cal AI alternatives, ranked

1. Callie: best overall Cal AI alternative, best for reviewing before you log

Callie is our app. Here is what it does differently from Cal AI.

  • Photo, voice and text logging, plus barcode and restaurant-menu scanning. You can log a meal by speaking it when a photo is awkward.
  • Nothing is auto-logged. A photo scan opens a review screen with foods, portions, calories and macros. Change any of them, then confirm.
  • Depth-aware portions. Callie reads the depth and camera metadata your phone stores in the photo file to estimate real size. It needs the original photo; screenshots lose that data.
  • An adaptive calorie target that re-tunes every two weeks from your weight trend.
  • Habit tools, including a GitHub-style streak dashboard and cheat days you schedule in advance that don't break your streak.
  • Daily diet plans matched to your BMI, weight and goal. Apple Health and Health Connect sync.
  • 6 app languages (English, French, Spanish, German, Arabic with right-to-left layout, and Japanese), plus an AI coach that replies in any language.

In our own 20-meal kitchen-scale test, Callie averaged 13% mean absolute error against Cal AI's 17%. That is our test, not an independent one, and the methodology is on the Callie vs Cal AI page.

Pricing is 3 free AI logs, then $34.99 a year, $14.99 a month or $4.99 a week in the US. Callie has no free plan and no ads. On price alone it doesn't beat Cal AI, whose listed prices top out at $29.99. It is cheaper than every other annual plan we could confirm on this list. Full details are on our pricing page.

Where Callie loses: MyFitnessPal's database is far bigger, Cronometer tracks many more micronutrients, and Callie is newer with fewer reviews than anything else here.

2. SnapCalorie: best free photo-first option

SnapCalorie comes from former Google researchers and is built around the camera. On iPhone Pro models it uses LiDAR to measure food volume, and it also takes voice notes such as "two eggs, tablespoon of butter." Its FAQ says it is free for up to 3 AI logs per day, the most generous free AI allowance we found. The listing says you can adjust any prediction afterward, so edits happen after the log. The US App Store lists Premium from $9.99 to $149.00, with the annual plan at $149.00. It is rated 4.7 from 6,683 reviews and is English-only.

3. Cronometer: best free tier and most accurate nutrient data

Cronometer's free tier keeps barcode scanning and 80-plus nutrients from a lab-verified database. Photo logging launched on September 8, 2025. It is Gold-only, and you review and adjust suggestions before they are logged. Gold is $59.99 a year or $10.99 a month on the US App Store. Rated 4.8 from 98,628 reviews.

4. MacroFactor: best adaptive calorie algorithm

MacroFactor adjusts your calorie target from your weight trend and intake, and it is the best implementation of that idea we know of. Its AI logging accepts a photo, or a photo with a text description, and splits the meal into separate ingredients. Results land in an editable Plate view. Its help docs say nothing is saved until you tap Log Foods. It is subscription-only after a free trial, at $71.99 a year or $11.99 a month. Rated 4.8 from 22,637 reviews.

5. MyFitnessPal: best food database

MyFitnessPal has the largest database in the category, over 20 million foods and 380-plus restaurant chains. Meal Scan, its photo feature, is Premium-only, and scan-a-meal moved behind the paywall in May 2026. Premium is $19.99 a month or $79.99 a year. Rated 4.7 from 2,366,235 reviews. Remember that it is Cal AI's owner.

6. Lose It!: best if you want to stop subscribing

Lose It! Premium includes Snap It photo logging and voice logging. It is also the only app here with a lifetime Premium purchase, and its App Store listing shows lifetime entries alongside the $79.99 annual plan. Lifetime pricing moves with promotions, so check it in-app. Rated 4.8 from 778,666 reviews.

7. Foodvisor: best for European users

Foodvisor's listing covers photo, voice, typed and barcode logging, and the app is localized in 20 languages. Its listing puts full micronutrient analysis, the personal program and ad removal behind Premium. US in-app purchases run from $14.99 to $89.99, including a $83.99 Premium tier. Rated 4.6 from 17,625 reviews.

8. Fitia: best for meal plans and grocery lists

Fitia builds meal plans and turns them into a shopping list. Its help center puts photo and voice logging in Premium. The free tier covers text and barcode logging for up to 4 meals a day. Premium is $59.99 a year or $19.99 a month. Rated 4.9 from 22,205 reviews, in English and Spanish.

Cal AI alternatives compared

FeatureCallieCal AISnapCalorieCronometerMacroFactorMyFitnessPalLose It!Fitia
Annual US price$34.99Up to $29.99 listed$149.00$59.99 (Gold)$71.99$79.99$79.99$59.99
AI logging without paying3 trial logs3 AI logs per dayTrial only
Photo loggingGoldPremiumPremiumPremium
Voice loggingNot listedNot listedPremiumPremiumPremium
Review before a photo is loggedEdit afterSee appSee appSee app
Adaptive calorie targetEvery 2 weeksBest in classAdapts to progress
Barcode scannerLabel scanner
Owned by MyFitnessPal
App Store ratings (US)New367K6.7K98.6K22.6K2.37M779K22.2K
US App Store listings and vendor documentation, checked September 28, 2026. Cal AI's listing does not state billing periods. 'See app' means we could not confirm the flow. Prices change often; confirm in-app before subscribing.

When Cal AI is still the right choice

Stay with Cal AI if you only log by photo, you like a single-purpose app, and you want the lowest listed price among AI photo trackers. Since the acquisition it draws on MyFitnessPal's database, which helps with branded and chain-restaurant food. Its 4.8 rating from over 367,000 reviews is not an accident. The app is fast and simple. If auto-logging hasn't caused you problems and the ownership doesn't bother you, switching may not be worth the effort.

Not sure which one fits? Our which calorie tracker guide gives one pick for each kind of user.

How to switch from Cal AI

  1. Write down your numbers. Record your current weight, goal and calorie target, and screenshot your weight graph. We couldn't find a documented Cal AI data export.
  2. Cancel the subscription. On iPhone, open Settings, tap your name, tap Subscriptions, choose Cal AI and tap Cancel Subscription. On Android, open Google Play, tap your profile, then Payments and subscriptions, then Subscriptions. If you paid through a web checkout instead of the App Store, it won't show up there, so email [email protected], the address on its listing.
  3. Install the new app before your paid period ends. Run both for a week. That is the fastest way to find out whether the new app handles what you actually eat.
  4. Re-create your regular meals. Save your ten most frequent meals as favorites in the first week, and the switch stops feeling like starting over.
Deleting the app does not cancel it

Removing Cal AI from your phone leaves the subscription running. Cancel in Settings first, then delete.

Sources

  1. TechCrunch (March 2, 2026). "MyFitnessPal has acquired Cal AI, the viral calorie app built by teens." https://techcrunch.com/2026/03/02/myfitnesspal-has-acquired-cal-ai-the-viral-calorie-app-built-by-teens/
  2. TechCrunch (April 21, 2026). "Apple's Cal AI crackdown signals it's still policing the App Store." https://techcrunch.com/2026/04/21/apples-cal-ai-crackdown-signals-its-still-policing-the-app-store/
  3. MacRumors (April 21, 2026). "Apple Pulled Cal AI for Deceptive Billing Design, Not External Payments." https://www.macrumors.com/2026/04/21/apple-cal-ai-app-store-removal/
  4. Cal AI App Store listing (accessed September 28, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cal-ai-calorie-tracker/id6480417616
  5. SnapCalorie FAQ (accessed September 28, 2026). https://www.snapcalorie.com/faq.html
  6. SnapCalorie App Store listing (accessed September 28, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/snapcalorie-ai-calorie-counter/id1574239307
  7. Cronometer press release (September 8, 2025). "Cronometer Launches Premium Photo Logging." https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/cronometer-launches-premium-photo-logging-fast-verified-nutrition-tracking-for-real-life-302549752.html
  8. Cronometer App Store listing (accessed September 28, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cronometer-calorie-counter/id1145935738
  9. MacroFactor (April 2025). "AI-Powered Food Logging Comes to MacroFactor." https://macrofactor.com/ai-food-logging/
  10. MacroFactor Help Center. "AI Food Logging." https://help.macrofactorapp.com/en/articles/258-ai-food-logging
  11. MacroFactor App Store listing (accessed September 28, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/macrofactor-macro-tracker/id1553503471
  12. Consumer Tech Wire (May 2026). "MyFitnessPal Moves Scan-a-Meal, Recipe Import, Macro-by-Meal to Premium." https://consumertechwire.com/news/myfitnesspal-paywall-expansion-may-2026/
  13. MyFitnessPal App Store listing (accessed September 28, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/myfitnesspal-calorie-counter/id341232718
  14. Lose It! App Store listing (accessed September 28, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/lose-it-calorie-counter/id297368629
  15. Foodvisor App Store listing (accessed September 28, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/foodvisor-ai-calorie-counter/id1064020872
  16. Fitia Help Center. "Free vs Premium Features." https://fitia.app/help/articles/free-vs-premium-fitia/
  17. Fitia App Store listing (accessed September 28, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/fitia-calorie-counter-diet/id1448277011
  18. Callie internal 20-meal kitchen-scale benchmark (May 2026). Methodology at https://www.mycallie.app/en/compare/callie-vs-cal-ai

Frequently asked questions

What is the best alternative to Cal AI?

For most people it is an app that logs by photo, voice and text and lets you correct the estimate before it is saved. Callie does all of that at $34.99 a year and is independent of MyFitnessPal. If you want the most precise nutrient data, pick Cronometer. If you train seriously and want your calorie target to adjust itself, pick MacroFactor. If you want a photo-first app with a free daily allowance, try SnapCalorie.

Is there a cheaper app than Cal AI?

Not really among AI photo trackers. Cal AI's US App Store listing shows in-app purchases from $0.99 to $29.99 as of September 28, 2026, and most paid alternatives cost more per year. Callie is $34.99 a year. Cronometer Gold and Fitia Premium are $59.99, MacroFactor is $71.99, and MyFitnessPal Premium and Lose It! Premium are $79.99. If you want to pay nothing, SnapCalorie gives 3 AI logs per day free, and Cronometer and FatSecret have large free tiers without AI photo logging.

Is there a Cal AI alternative that doesn't auto-log?

Yes. Callie shows the detected foods, portions, calories and macros on a review screen and saves nothing until you confirm. MacroFactor puts AI results in an editable Plate view and you tap Log Foods to save them. Cronometer's Gold photo logging asks you to review and adjust the suggested foods before they reach your diary. In our testing, Cal AI adds a scanned meal to your day and you fix it afterward.

Is Cal AI owned by MyFitnessPal?

Yes. MyFitnessPal acquired Cal AI in a deal that closed in December 2025 and was announced on March 2, 2026. Terms were not disclosed. Cal AI still runs as a separate app with a separate subscription, and MyFitnessPal Premium does not unlock it.

What is a free alternative to Cal AI?

SnapCalorie is the closest free option. Its FAQ says it is free for up to 3 AI logs per day, with unlimited manual and barcode entries. Cronometer's free tier has barcode scanning and 80-plus nutrients but no photo logging, which is Gold-only. Callie is not free. You get 3 AI logs to try it, then it costs $34.99 a year.

Why was Cal AI removed from the App Store?

Apple pulled Cal AI in April 2026 over its billing design. Apple told TechCrunch the app bypassed in-app purchase with a Stripe checkout, showed weekly pricing more prominently than the amount billed, used a free-trial toggle that hid auto-renewal, and re-prompted people who declined with a second offer. Cal AI was restored after the developer made fixes.

Keep reading