# Best Free Calorie Tracker Apps in 2026 (What's Actually Free)

> The best free calorie tracker apps in October 2026, with exactly what each free tier includes and what sits behind the paywall: barcode scanning, macros, photo and voice logging, ads and in-app purchases. Checked on each app's own listing and help pages.

Canonical: https://www.mycallie.app/en/blog/best-free-calorie-tracker-apps
Published: 2026-10-13 · Updated: 2026-10-13
Author: Md Sadab Wasim · Source: https://www.mycallie.app

Callie is our app, and it is not free, so it is not ranked among the free apps below. We include it at the end as the paid option for people who want AI logging. For every other app, the free and paid split comes from its own App Store listing or help center, checked on October 13, 2026. Sources are at the bottom.

## The 30-second answer

The best free calorie tracker app for most people is **Cronometer**: barcode scanning, macros and more than 80 nutrients without paying, with ads. **MyNetDiary** is the best free pick without ads, and its free version also includes a barcode scanner and voice logging. If you want an app with nothing to buy at all, use **OpenNutriTracker** (Android and iPhone) or **Waistline** (Android). If you want free AI photo logging, **SnapCalorie** gives 3 AI logs per day. Avoid relying on the free tiers of **MyFitnessPal** and **Lose It!** if you scan barcodes, because both now charge for it.

## What we counted as free

A free tier here means you can keep using it with no time limit and no payment. A free trial of a paid plan doesn't count. For each app we checked four things that people usually run into first:

- whether the barcode scanner is free
- whether you can see and set macro targets (protein, carbs, fat) for free
- whether photo or voice logging is free
- whether the free version shows ads

Every app below also sells something, except the two open-source ones. Prices are from the US App Store on October 13, 2026.

## The best free calorie tracker apps, ranked

### 1. Cronometer: best free calorie tracker overall

Cronometer's [help center](https://support.cronometer.com/hc/en-us/articles/360028026971-Subscription-Types) says you can use the free version for an unlimited time. Free accounts get nutrition data from lab-analyzed sources, custom foods and recipes, activity tracker sync and export of all your raw data. Its [App Store listing](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cronometer-calorie-counter/id1145935738) says you can scan barcodes for free, and you can track protein, carbs, fat, fiber, vitamins and minerals against your targets.

**Paywalled (Gold, $59.99 a year or $10.99 a month):** photo and voice logging, the fasting tracker, the recipe importer, repeat items, long-term charts and an ad-free experience. The free version shows ads.

Best for people who type or scan their food and care about micronutrients.

### 2. MyNetDiary: best free tier without ads

MyNetDiary's [App Store listing](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/calorie-counter-mynetdiary/id287529757) has the longest free feature list we found. It names an unlimited food diary, a free barcode scanner, voice logging, macro and protein tracking, 108 nutrients, water and exercise tracking, custom foods and recipes, and Apple Health sync. The listing describes the app as ad-free.

**Paywalled (Premium):** Meal Scan photo logging, intermittent fasting, calorie and macro cycling, an adaptive calorie target it calls Advanced Autopilot, meal plans and recipe import. Premium Plus adds an AI coach. The US App Store lists Premium purchases from $8.99 to $59.99 without labelling the billing periods.

Best for people who want barcode scanning and macros free, without ads.

### 3. FatSecret: best free app for a large food database

FatSecret's [App Store listing](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/calorie-counter-by-fatsecret/id347184248) calls the app free and includes a food diary, a barcode scanner, a weight tracker, an exercise diary, and reporting and goals for calories and macros. The listing also mentions image recognition, but FatSecret's help center files [Smart Food Scan](https://www.fatsecret.com/fatsecret-app-help/getting-started-with-premium), its photo feature, under Premium, so don't count on photo logging for free.

**Paywalled (Premium):** Smart Food Scan, dietitian meal plans, advanced meal planning, extra meal headings and water tracking. US annual subscriptions are listed at $38.99 and $59.99, with monthly plans at $10.49 and $14.99.

Best for people who eat a lot of branded and chain-restaurant food.

### 4. OpenNutriTracker and Waistline: best with no in-app purchases

These two are the honest answer to "calorie tracker app without in-app purchases."

**[OpenNutriTracker](https://github.com/simonoppowa/OpenNutriTracker)** is open source under GPLv3 and on [Android](https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.opennutritracker.ont.opennutritracker) and [iPhone](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/opennutritracker/id6451490901). Its GitHub page says it has no paid tier and no ads, needs no account, and keeps your diary encrypted on your phone. You can search foods, scan a barcode or quick-add calories, with data from Open Food Facts, USDA FoodData Central and the German BLS. It sets calorie and macro targets and shows micronutrients.

**[Waistline](https://github.com/davidhealey/waistline)** is Android only. Its GitHub page says it contains no ads or in-app purchases. It scans barcodes and searches Open Food Facts and the USDA database, and you can import and export your data.

**Paywalled:** nothing. The trade-off is that neither has photo or AI logging, and their databases depend on what Open Food Facts contributors have added, which is thinner for some countries and restaurant food.

### 5. Yazio: good free tier, most extras in PRO

Yazio's [App Store listing](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/ai-calorie-tracker-by-yazio/id946099227) describes a free calorie counter with a food diary, macro analysis, a barcode scanner, water tracking and meal planning tools.

**Paywalled (PRO):** Yazio's [help center](https://help.yazio.com/hc/en-us/articles/208847005-How-does-Yazio-Pro-support-my-goals) lists AI photo tracking, all intermittent fasting plans, detailed nutrients such as vitamins and minerals, the full recipe database, automatic activity sync, 2-year statistics, different calorie goals for weekends, and an ad-free experience. The free version shows ads. PRO is $47.90 a year in the US, with offers as low as $23.90.

Best for people in Europe, since Yazio lets you pick a country food database.

### 6. SnapCalorie: best free AI calorie tracker

SnapCalorie's [FAQ](https://www.snapcalorie.com/faq.html) says it is free for up to 3 AI logs per day. That allowance resets daily, which no other photo-first app we checked offers. Its [App Store listing](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/snapcalorie-ai-calorie-counter/id1574239307) covers photo and voice logging, LiDAR portion measurement on Pro iPhones, and a nutrition label scanner. You can edit a prediction after it is logged.

**Paywalled (Premium):** AI logs beyond 3 a day. The annual plan is $149.00 on the US App Store.

Best for people who want to try AI photo logging for free on a few meals a day.

### 7. Lose It!: basic calorie counting free, most tools in Premium

Lose It!'s [App Store listing](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/lose-it-calorie-counter/id297368629) lists three free features: calorie tracking, a weight loss plan and community support.

**Paywalled (Premium):** photo meal logging, AI voice logging, the barcode scanner, advanced tracking of macros and nutrients, intermittent fasting and meal targets. Its [support page](https://loseit.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/47773984823700-Unlocking-the-Barcode-Scanner-Scan-It) says the barcode scanner is being moved to Premium, some free members still have it during the transition, and it only works with the device language set to English. Premium runs $39.99 to $79.99 a year in the US, and Lose It! also sells a lifetime Premium purchase.

Best for people who only want a calorie number and a simple plan.

### 8. MyFitnessPal: largest database, smallest free tier

MyFitnessPal's [plan comparison](https://support.myfitnesspal.com/hc/en-us/articles/34889191368077-The-difference-between-Free-Premium-and-Premium) gives free users food and exercise logging, measurements, custom foods and recipes, viewing macros, setting calorie and macro goals by percentage, and partner app links.

**Paywalled (Premium, $79.99 a year or $19.99 a month):** the barcode scanner, Meal Scan, voice logging, macros by gram, intermittent fasting, data export, net carbs and ad-free use. Its [barcode help page](https://support.myfitnesspal.com/hc/en-us/articles/360032624771-How-to-use-the-Barcode-Scanner) says Barcode Scan has been Premium-only since October 1, 2022.

Best for people who search for branded and restaurant foods and don't mind typing. More in [the best MyFitnessPal alternatives](/blog/best-myfitnesspal-alternatives-2026).

## Free tiers compared

| Feature | Callie | Cronometer | MyNetDiary | FatSecret | OpenNutriTracker | Yazio | SnapCalorie | Lose It! | MyFitnessPal |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free to use with no time limit | No, 3 trial logs then paid | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Barcode scanner without paying | Paid after 3 logs | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Label scanner, not stated | Moving to Premium | Premium |
| Macro targets without paying | Paid after 3 logs | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Premium | By percentage |
| Photo logging without paying | 3 trial logs | Gold | Premium | Premium | No | PRO | 3 AI logs per day | Premium | Premium |
| Voice logging without paying | 3 trial logs | Gold | Yes | Not stated | No | Not stated | Within 3 AI logs per day | Premium | Premium |
| Ads | No ads | Ads on free tier | No ads (listing) | Not stated | No ads | Ads on free tier | Not stated | Not stated | Ads on free tier |
| Paid plan, US yearly | $34.99 | $59.99 (Gold) | Up to $59.99 | $38.99 to $59.99 | Nothing to buy | $47.90 | $149.00 | $39.99 to $79.99 | $79.99 |

_Vendor App Store listings, help centers and GitHub pages, checked October 13, 2026. 'Not stated' means we could not confirm it from the vendor. Free tiers change often; check in the app._

## Calorie tracker with barcode scanner free

If scanning packaged food is the main thing you do, pick **Cronometer**, **MyNetDiary**, **FatSecret** or **Yazio**. All four list barcode scanning in their free apps as of October 13, 2026. **OpenNutriTracker** and **Waistline** scan for free too, against Open Food Facts. Skip MyFitnessPal and Lose It! for this, since both charge for scanning now. Our [barcode scanner roundup](/blog/best-barcode-scanner-calorie-app) compares database size and how each app checks its entries.

## Calorie tracker with macros free

Cronometer, MyNetDiary, FatSecret, Yazio and OpenNutriTracker all let you see and set protein, carb and fat targets for free. MyFitnessPal's free tier shows macros and lets you set macro goals as percentages, but setting them in grams is Premium. Lose It!'s listing puts advanced macro tracking in Premium. If you want a target that adjusts from your weight trend, that is paid nearly everywhere: MyNetDiary puts its adaptive target in Premium.

## Calorie tracker app without in-app purchases

Only the open-source apps qualify: **OpenNutriTracker** on Android and iPhone, and **Waistline** on Android. Everything else, including Callie, sells a subscription even if the download is free. If your real goal is to avoid a subscription rather than avoid paying entirely, our guide to [AI calorie trackers without a subscription](/blog/ai-calorie-tracker-without-subscription) covers one-time purchases such as Lose It!'s lifetime plan.

## AI calorie tracker free

No AI photo tracker we checked offers unlimited free AI logging. The closest options:

- **SnapCalorie:** 3 AI logs per day, every day, per its FAQ.
- **Callie:** 3 AI logs once, as a trial. Then it needs a subscription.
- **ChatGPT, Gemini or Claude:** they will estimate a meal from a photo, but they keep no food diary. We tested this in [Can ChatGPT count calories?](/blog/can-chatgpt-count-calories)

Cronometer, MyNetDiary, FatSecret, Yazio, Lose It! and MyFitnessPal all keep photo logging behind their paid plans. Our ranking of [AI calorie trackers by yearly price](/blog/cheapest-ai-calorie-tracker) covers what each paid plan costs.

## Calorie tracker app free: what Reddit says

In our review of [what Reddit recommends](/blog/best-calorie-tracker-app-reddit), Cronometer and FatSecret were the free apps named most often in r/loseit and r/CICO threads, mostly for Cronometer's accurate data and FatSecret's large database. MyNetDiary came up less often, with positive comments about its free version. The common complaint about MyFitnessPal was the barcode paywall.

## Where Callie fits: the paid pick

Callie is not free. You get 3 AI logs to try it, once. After that it costs $34.99 a year, $14.99 a month or $4.99 a week in the US (€39.99 a year in the eurozone, AED 99.99 in the UAE). There are no ads.

It is worth paying for if you want to log by photo, voice or text and check every estimate before it is saved:

- **Review before confirm.** A photo scan opens a screen with the foods, portions, calories and macros. Edit anything, then confirm. Nothing is logged automatically.
- **Photo, voice and text logging**, plus a barcode and menu scanner.
- **A calorie target that re-tunes every 2 weeks** from your weight trend.
- **Daily diet plans matched to your BMI**, a GitHub-style streak dashboard and cheat days you schedule that keep your streak.
- **Apple Health and Health Connect sync**, on iPhone and Android, in 6 app languages.

At $34.99 a year it costs less than half of MyFitnessPal Premium ($79.99) and less than Cronometer Gold ($59.99) or SnapCalorie Premium ($149). It is not the lowest-priced AI tracker: Cal AI's App Store purchases top out at $29.99. See every plan on [our pricing page](/pricing).

## When a free app is the better choice

Pick a free app over Callie if any of these fit:

- **You don't want to pay anything.** Cronometer or MyNetDiary covers calories, macros and barcode scanning for free.
- **You weigh your food and type it in.** AI logging saves time on mixed meals, but if you already weigh everything, a free database app is just as accurate.
- **You track micronutrients closely.** Cronometer's free tier tracks far more nutrients than Callie shows.
- **You want no subscription and no data leaving your phone.** OpenNutriTracker or Waistline.
- **You only want AI logging for a meal or two a day.** SnapCalorie's 3 free AI logs per day may be enough.

Not sure which fits you? Our [which calorie tracker guide](/which-calorie-tracker) gives one pick per kind of user.

## Related reading

- [Is there an AI calorie tracker without a subscription?](/blog/ai-calorie-tracker-without-subscription)
- [AI calorie trackers ranked by yearly price](/blog/cheapest-ai-calorie-tracker)
- [Best calorie counter with a barcode scanner](/blog/best-barcode-scanner-calorie-app)
- [Best MyFitnessPal alternatives in 2026](/blog/best-myfitnesspal-alternatives-2026)
- [Callie pricing](/pricing)

## Sources

1. Cronometer App Store listing, US (accessed October 13, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cronometer-calorie-counter/id1145935738
2. Cronometer Support (updated October 12, 2026). "Subscription Types." https://support.cronometer.com/hc/en-us/articles/360028026971-Subscription-Types
3. MyNetDiary App Store listing, US (accessed October 13, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/calorie-counter-mynetdiary/id287529757
4. FatSecret App Store listing, US (accessed October 13, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/calorie-counter-by-fatsecret/id347184248
5. FatSecret Help Center. "Getting Started with Premium" (accessed October 13, 2026). https://www.fatsecret.com/fatsecret-app-help/getting-started-with-premium
6. FatSecret Premium (accessed October 13, 2026). https://fatsecret.com/premium
7. OpenNutriTracker on GitHub (accessed October 13, 2026). https://github.com/simonoppowa/OpenNutriTracker
8. Waistline on GitHub (accessed October 13, 2026). https://github.com/davidhealey/waistline
9. Yazio App Store listing, US (accessed October 13, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/ai-calorie-tracker-by-yazio/id946099227
10. Yazio Help Center (updated October 12, 2026). "How does Yazio Pro support my goals?" https://help.yazio.com/hc/en-us/articles/208847005-How-does-Yazio-Pro-support-my-goals
11. SnapCalorie FAQ (accessed October 13, 2026). https://www.snapcalorie.com/faq.html
12. SnapCalorie App Store listing, US (accessed October 13, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/snapcalorie-ai-calorie-counter/id1574239307
13. Lose It! App Store listing, US (accessed October 13, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/lose-it-calorie-counter/id297368629
14. Lose It! Support (updated April 1, 2026). "Unlocking the Barcode Scanner/Scan It." https://loseit.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/47773984823700-Unlocking-the-Barcode-Scanner-Scan-It
15. MyFitnessPal Help (updated October 5, 2026). "The difference between Free, Premium, and Premium +." https://support.myfitnesspal.com/hc/en-us/articles/34889191368077-The-difference-between-Free-Premium-and-Premium
16. MyFitnessPal Help (updated September 3, 2026). "How to use the Barcode Scanner." https://support.myfitnesspal.com/hc/en-us/articles/360032624771-How-to-use-the-Barcode-Scanner
17. MyFitnessPal App Store listing, US (accessed October 13, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/myfitnesspal-calorie-counter/id341232718
18. Cal AI App Store listing, US (accessed September 28, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cal-ai-calorie-tracker/id6480417616
19. Callie App Store listing, US (accessed October 13, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/callie-ai-calorie-tracker/id6748760925
