# Best Calorie Tracker for Mounjaro (2026): What to Track on Tirzepatide

> What a calorie tracker has to do on Mounjaro or Zepbound: catch under-eating, hit a protein floor across small meals, log fiber and fluids, and stay useful through dose increases and plateaus. Five apps compared, October 2026.

Canonical: https://www.mycallie.app/en/blog/best-calorie-tracker-for-mounjaro
Published: 2026-10-13 · Updated: 2026-10-13
Author: Md Sadab Wasim · Source: https://www.mycallie.app

Callie is our app. It is one of five apps compared below, and the section on what it does not do is as long as the section on what it does. Prices are US App Store or vendor prices checked on October 13, 2026.

This article compares tracking apps and summarises published nutrition guidance. It does not tell you how to take Mounjaro or Zepbound, what dose to use, or how to treat side effects. Those decisions belong to your prescriber, who knows your history.

## The 30-second answer

The best calorie tracker for Mounjaro is the one that makes it easy to see when you have eaten too little, because tirzepatide (sold as Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes and Zepbound for weight management) cuts appetite hard. **MyNetDiary** is the closest to one app for food, injections and symptoms. **Shotsy** or **Pep** are better dose and side-effect logs. **Cronometer** is best for fiber and micronutrients. **MacroFactor** suits people who lift and want an adaptive target. **[Callie](/pricing)** is best for logging small, irregular meals fast by photo, voice or text with a review step, but it does not track doses, so pair it with a dose tracker.

For the wider list covering semaglutide as well, see our [GLP-1 calorie app roundup](/blog/best-calorie-app-for-glp-1-2026). This page is narrower: what to track on tirzepatide and which app handles each part.

## Should I count calories on Mounjaro?

You can, but the reason changes. Off medication, counting keeps you under a ceiling. On tirzepatide, appetite drops so far that the ceiling mostly enforces itself, and the risk runs the other way.

The 2025 joint advisory on nutrition during GLP-1 therapy describes people who "get caught in a cycle of not eating due to nausea", which makes the nausea worse, which makes eating less likely again. A food log is the simplest way to see that cycle starting. It turns "I wasn't hungry this week" into a number you can show your clinician.

So the useful setup is:

- **Watch protein daily.** It is the number most likely to fall without you noticing.
- **Watch total intake weekly.** Look for a downward drift your care team did not plan for.
- **Let the calorie ceiling be.** It is rarely the problem on this drug.

If counting every calorie makes eating feel harder, tracking protein alone is a reasonable middle ground. Raise it with your clinician either way.

## What to track on tirzepatide

### 1. Under-eating, not overeating

Appetite on tirzepatide can fall quickly and unevenly. A day with half a yogurt and a few bites of dinner can pass without feeling unusual. The tracker's job is to make those days visible. That means logging even tiny meals, which only happens if logging takes seconds.

### 2. Protein across small meals

Protein is the hardest target to hit when every meal is small. The advisory suggests eating protein-rich foods first in a meal and choosing lower-volume, nutrient-dense protein foods. In practice that means four or five small eating occasions with protein in each, rather than two or three large meals. Our [GLP-1 muscle loss guide](/blog/glp-1-muscle-loss-protein) covers why this matters and how to spread it out.

### 3. Small, low-volume meals

The Zepbound label states that tirzepatide delays gastric emptying, and the advisory notes that vomiting is more likely after large meals. Smaller, more frequent meals are its first suggestion for nausea. For tracking, this means more entries per day, each smaller, and often a meal you stop partway through. An app that makes you search a database and type 0.4 servings for every one of those will not get used.

### 4. Fiber and fluids

Constipation is common, and the advisory recommends adequate fluids and fiber from food, with fiber increased gradually. It also warns that dehydration from severe nausea, vomiting or diarrhea can cause acute kidney injury. The Zepbound label carries the same warning about kidney injury from volume depletion. If your app tracks fiber and water, use those fields. If it does not, a second app or a simple note works.

### 5. Side effects that change what you eat

The most common side effects in the Zepbound label are digestive: nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, constipation, abdominal pain, indigestion, burping and reflux. They shape food choices directly. Greasy or large meals may stop being tolerable, and some people lean on soft or liquid food for a few days. Logging food next to symptoms lets you and your clinician see patterns. That pairing is where a dose-and-symptom app earns its place.

### 6. Dose increase weeks

Tirzepatide is started low and increased in steps, several weeks apart, on a schedule your prescriber sets. The advisory notes that digestive side effects are more likely when treatment starts and after each increase. Expect intake to dip in those weeks. Logging the date of each change in a dose tracker, and keeping food logging going in your calorie app, gives you a before-and-after picture to discuss at your next appointment.

### 7. Plateaus

Weight loss slows over time on any treatment. When the scale stalls, a few weeks of food logs answer the first questions quickly: has intake crept back up, has protein dropped, has nothing changed at all? Our [weight-loss plateau guide](/blog/weight-loss-plateau) covers the general causes. On Mounjaro, the next step is a conversation with your prescriber, not cutting food further on your own.

Nausea or vomiting that stops you eating or drinking for a day or more, signs of dehydration, severe or lasting abdominal pain, or weight falling faster than your care team expects. If you take Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes alongside insulin or a sulfonylurea, eating much less than usual is also worth raising, because the label flags low blood sugar with those combinations.

## How much protein on Mounjaro?

There is no tirzepatide-specific protein number. The most cited guidance is the May 2025 joint advisory, *Nutritional Priorities to Support GLP-1 Therapy for Obesity*, from the American College of Lifestyle Medicine, the American Society for Nutrition, the Obesity Medicine Association and The Obesity Society. On protein it says:

- The RDA for adults is 0.8 g per kg of body weight per day.
- Higher targets, such as **1.2 to 1.6 g/kg per day**, have been proposed during active weight loss.
- For people with obesity, it is unclear whether to use actual body weight, an adjusted weight or fat-free mass. Using actual weight can overestimate needs.
- An absolute target of **80 to 120 g a day** may be easier to stick to.
- Protein alone is unlikely to protect muscle without strength training.

Here is what those ranges look like at a few body weights. This is arithmetic on the published range, not a recommendation for you.

| Body weight | 1.2 g/kg | 1.6 g/kg |
|---|---|---|
| 60 kg (132 lb) | 72 g | 96 g |
| 80 kg (176 lb) | 96 g | 128 g |
| 100 kg (220 lb) | 120 g | 160 g |

Because the advisory is unsure which weight to use at higher body weights, the right number for you is a question for your prescriber or a registered dietitian. Our [protein calculator](/blog/protein-calculator) shows the arithmetic for other goals.

## Calorie calculator for Mounjaro: is there one?

No calculator is validated for tirzepatide. A standard [maintenance calorie calculator](/blog/maintenance-calories-tdee-calculator) estimates how much you would eat to hold your weight, which helps you understand the size of the deficit you are running. It does not tell you how little is too little.

On Mounjaro, the numbers worth putting in your tracker are floors: a protein target and, if your clinician gives you one, a minimum daily intake. Treat any calorie target the app suggests as context, and check it with your care team before you aim for it.

## Best calorie app for Mounjaro: five apps compared

| Feature | Callie | MyNetDiary | Cronometer | MacroFactor | Shotsy | Pep |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Main job | Fast food logging | Food plus GLP-1 tools | Nutrient detail | Adaptive macro coaching | Dose log | Dose log plus food |
| Photo logging with a review step | Yes | Meal Scan (Premium) | Gold | Yes | No | AI photo scanner |
| Voice or text description logging | Yes | Not checked | Voice (Gold) | Yes | No | Not stated |
| Protein on the main screen | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Logs protein | Logs protein |
| Fiber and micronutrient depth | Basic | 108 nutrients (Premium) | 84 nutrients | Moderate | No | Fiber |
| Injection or dose log | No | Premium | Via custom biometric (Gold) | No | Yes | Yes |
| Side-effect or symptom log | No | Yes | Biometrics; custom ones Gold | No | Yes | Not detailed |
| Daily meal plan | Daily, matched to BMI | GLP-1 menus (Premium) | No | No | No | Not stated |
| US yearly price | $34.99 | $59.99 Premium | $59.99 Gold | $71.99 | $39.99 or $59.99 listed | Core tracking at no charge; paid extras |

_From vendor pages, press releases and US App Store listings, checked October 13, 2026. Not checked means we could not confirm it either way. Features move between tiers often; confirm in the app before paying._

## Which app for which problem

### One app for food, doses and symptoms: MyNetDiary

MyNetDiary launched **GLP-1 Companion** on May 5, 2026, inside its Premium tier, on iOS and Android. It names Mounjaro and Zepbound directly. It adds injection reminders and a medication tracker, protein shown as a primary nutrient, hydration and fiber tracking, digestive symptom logging (nausea, bloating, constipation), GLP-1 menus with 90 g or more of protein a day, and progress charts that line up weight, protein, medication timing and symptoms. Premium is $59.99 a year or $9.99 a month. If you want one app and do not mind a more traditional database-first logging style, start here.

### The best dose and side-effect log: Shotsy or Pep

**Shotsy** is built around the medication: one-tap dose logging, schedules and reminders, multiple medications, side effects, weight, and calories, protein and water, which it can pull from Apple Health. Its US App Store listing shows in-app purchases of $39.99 and $59.99 a year. **Pep** covers doses, injection-site rotation, protein, fiber, calories and water, with a food search, barcode scanner and AI photo scanner. Its site says core tracking costs nothing, with paid extras. Either one pairs well with a separate food tracker, because you open a dose log once a week and a food log several times a day.

### Fiber and micronutrients: Cronometer

When you eat much less food, each bite has to carry more nutrients, and the advisory lists preventing micronutrient deficiencies as one of its priorities. Cronometer's free tier shows 84 nutrients, including fiber and magnesium. Gold ($59.99 a year) adds photo logging with a review step and voice logging. Cronometer has no dedicated GLP-1 mode, but its own blog suggests logging doses and symptoms as custom biometrics, which need Gold.

### Strength training and an adaptive target: MacroFactor

MacroFactor ($71.99 a year) recalculates your targets from your actual intake and weight trend, which helps when intake swings from week to week. It has AI photo logging and a Describe feature for voice or text, both with an editable Plate view before anything is logged. We found no injection log. It suits people who lift, which the advisory recommends alongside protein.

### Logging small meals quickly: Callie

This is the slot we built Callie for. See the next section.

## Where Callie fits, and what it does not do

**What it does not do:** Callie does not log injections, doses, dose dates, injection sites or side effects. It has no GLP-1 mode. Its fiber and micronutrient detail is basic next to Cronometer or MyNetDiary. If you want all of that in one app, MyNetDiary Premium is the better fit.

What it does for someone on tirzepatide:

- **Photo, voice and text logging.** Take a photo of the half-finished plate, or say "three spoonfuls of Greek yogurt and a few blueberries". On low-appetite days, this is the difference between a logged meal and no entry at all.
- **Review before saving.** Every photo scan opens on an edit screen with the detected foods, portions, calories and macros. Nothing is saved until you confirm, so you can shrink the portion to what you actually ate.
- **Depth-aware portion estimates.** Callie reads depth and camera metadata in the photo file to judge scale, which matters when portions are small. In our own 20-meal test, Callie averaged 13% error against a kitchen scale and Cal AI 17%; the method is on the [Callie vs Cal AI page](/compare/callie-vs-cal-ai).
- **Protein and macros next to calories,** with custom goals, so you can enter the protein target your clinician gives you.
- **Daily diet plans matched to your BMI.** A suggested day of meals is more practical than a calorie ceiling when the real question is how to fit protein into a small appetite.
- **An AI coach in any language,** for questions like "what can I eat that is high in protein and easy on a queasy stomach". It answers food questions; it does not give medical advice.
- **A streak dashboard and a home-screen widget,** which help with the habit of logging on days you barely eat.

Callie is $34.99 a year in the US after 3 trial AI logs. That is less than half of MacroFactor ($71.99) and cheaper than Cronometer Gold ($59.99) or MyNetDiary Premium ($59.99), but you would still add a dose tracker on top.

## When MyNetDiary, Cronometer or MacroFactor is the better choice

- **Choose MyNetDiary** if you want one app with food logging, injection reminders, a medication log and symptom tracking, and GLP-1 menus built around higher protein.
- **Choose Cronometer** if fiber, iron, calcium or B12 are on your mind, or your clinician asks you to watch specific nutrients. Its free tier already shows 84 nutrients.
- **Choose MacroFactor** if you strength train and want the most careful adaptive calorie and macro targets.
- **Choose Shotsy or Pep alone** if you mostly want a dose log and your clinician is happy with a rough idea of protein and calories.
- **Choose Callie plus a dose tracker** if logging friction is what makes you stop, especially on days you only manage a few bites.

Tirzepatide is a prescription medicine with real side effects and warnings. Nothing here is advice on starting, stopping or changing a dose, or on treating side effects. Protein and calorie targets, supplements and monitoring should be set with your prescriber or a registered dietitian.

## Related reading

- [Best calorie tracking apps for GLP-1 users](/blog/best-calorie-app-for-glp-1-2026), the broader roundup covering Ozempic and Wegovy too.
- [GLP-1 and muscle loss](/blog/glp-1-muscle-loss-protein), on protein distribution and strength training.
- [GLP-1 diet plan for Ozempic, Wegovy and Mounjaro](/blog/glp-1-diet-plan-ozempic-wegovy-mounjaro), with a sample week of meals.
- [Protein calculator](/blog/protein-calculator), for the arithmetic at your weight.
- [Weight-loss plateau](/blog/weight-loss-plateau), on why progress stalls.

## Sources

1. Mozaffarian D et al. (2025). "Nutritional priorities to support GLP-1 therapy for obesity: a joint Advisory from the American College of Lifestyle Medicine, the American Society for Nutrition, the Obesity Medicine Association, and The Obesity Society." *The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition* 122: 344–367. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ajcnut.2025.04.023
2. American Society for Nutrition (May 30, 2025). "Nutritional Priorities to Support GLP-1 Therapy for Obesity." https://nutrition.org/nutritional-priorities-to-support-glp-1-therapy-for-obesity/
3. Eli Lilly and Company. ZEPBOUND (tirzepatide) US Prescribing Information, revised August 2026 (accessed October 13, 2026). https://pi.lilly.com/us/zepbound-uspi.pdf
4. MyNetDiary (May 5, 2026). "MyNetDiary Launches GLP-1 Companion for Ozempic, Wegovy, and Mounjaro Users." https://www.mynetdiary.com/mynetdiary-launches-glp-1-companion-for-ozempic-wegovy-and-mounjaro-users.html
5. MyNetDiary GLP-1 Companion page (accessed October 13, 2026). https://www.mynetdiary.com/glp-1-app.html
6. Shotsy GLP-1 Tracker, US App Store listing (accessed October 13, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/-/id6499510249
7. Pep GLP-1 tracker (accessed October 13, 2026). https://pepglp1.com/
8. Cronometer (July 10, 2024). "GLP-1 Drugs: How Cronometer Can Help." https://cronometer.com/blog/glp-1-drugs-how-cronometer-can-help/
9. Cronometer App Store listing (accessed September 28, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/cronometer-calorie-counter/id1145935738
10. MacroFactor Help Center. "AI Food Logging." https://help.macrofactorapp.com/en/articles/258-ai-food-logging
11. MacroFactor App Store listing (accessed September 28, 2026). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/macrofactor-macro-tracker/id1553503471
12. Callie internal 20-meal kitchen-scale benchmark (May 2026). Methodology at https://www.mycallie.app/en/compare/callie-vs-cal-ai
